Etegami

post #150

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Etegami

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

I had read a post by Fergiemoto, called;

Creating My First Digital

 “Etegami”  and “Hanko”

This post was incredibly inspirational, for me and anyone who may dabble in art, photos, crafts and/or creative art work.

exerpt from Fergiemoto’s post;

It involves another form of traditional Japanese art called “etegami”.  Etegami is a Japanese word which means picture message/letter, which are “simple drawings accompanied by a few apt words.” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

exerpt from …

dosankodebbie’s etegami notebook

…..also

Etegami (e=”picture” tegami=”letter”) are simple drawings accompanied by a few apt words, done on a soft absorbent postcards. They are meant to be mailed off to one’s friends, not hoarded. They often depict some ordinary item from everyday life. Seasonal flowers, vegetables, and fruit are popular themes.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

…reading these two posts about ‘Etegami,’ I was inspired to create my own ‘Art’ and here is what I came up with. However I feel I haven’t quite got the hang of it yet (because my drawings don’t seem to have that ‘Japanese’ feel to them yet) but as they say, Practice makes perfect. I hope you enjoy these and take it upon yourselves to go to Fergiemoto’s post and get inspired as well. The post has several links that help bring this Art to life.

here are a few I found on google

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

and here are my creations…

(click on pictures to enlarge)

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

19 thoughts on “Etegami

  1. This is AWESOME and thank you so much for the link back to my post! The creativity is definitely flowing from your mind and fingers and creating pleasing and inspirational works of art. I think it’s great to give an art form your individual style, technique and medium. It makes art unique and interesting, and continually evolving. I also like how you’ve personalized a signature to look similar to a hanko stamp – cool! I’d say go with what feels good to you, whether or not it has a Japanese feel. I’d like mine to have more of a watercolor effect, but I’ll keep practicing. Thanks again!!
    Here’s another person that gave etegami a try after reading my post. Some of my haiga was inspired by his blog.
    http://19planets.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/6-november-etegami-a-season-on-my-counter/

  2. Pingback: Creating My First Digital “Etegami” and “Hanko” | Creativity Aroused

  3. aloha Zendictive – yeah, i agree with others here – do these Etegami in your own way, you clearly have the ability to create inspiring work.

    imo – respecting tradition and finding our own way go hand in hand. that’s growth rather than stagnation.

    your Etegami has a great visual elegance to it. i like that.

    i too hope to look at more examples of Etegami – right now i’m having fun in my own way and will continue to explore in that way. as i become more aware of what is traditional and what is innovative i’ll pick and choose what i like to make my work my own – which is always my goal (altho sometimes i succeed less or more than other times).

    way cool on what you are doing. have fun. aloha. – rick (Wrick).

  4. Pingback: Ocean Etegami | Creativity Aroused

  5. Pingback: “Waiting for the New Year” | Mysterious Japan

  6. Pingback: Etegami – Celebrate « Exploration Art

  7. Pingback: FERGIEMOTO does it again! So Cute. « Exploration Art

  8. I never knew there was a name for this art, but I have done this all my life. I have always loved etymology, and now I love Etegami. I am thrilled to learn that the art of putting words and pictures together has a name. How wonderful! Blessings, Connie

  9. Interesting interpretation of etegami, however, it would be nice if you credited individually the ones that you have posted from Google. Debbie is very generous in spreading the word about etegami but it is not clear which are her works and which are other peoples, mine among them.

Leave a Reply

