truth or consequences

(read the first part then be sure to read the second part)

First;

An article in National Geographic several years ago provided a penetrating picture of God’s wings. After a forest fire in Yellowstone National Park, forest rangers began their trek up a mountain of assess, the inferno’s damage. One ranger found a bird literally charred and petrified in ashes, perched statuesquely on the ground at the base of a tree.

Somewhat sickened by the eerie sight, he knocked over the bird with a stick. When he struck it, three tiny chicks scurried from under their dead mother’s wings. The loving mother, keenly aware of impending disaster, had carried her offspring to the base of the tree and had gathered them under her wings, instinctively knowing that the toxic smoke would rise. She could have flown to safety but had refused to abandon her babies. When the blaze had arrived and the heat had singed her small body, the mother had remained steadfast. Because she had been willing to die, those under the cover of her wings would live.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(moral; there is little mightier than a mother’s love and

don’t believe everything you read…)

Second:

When I read this it gripped my heart. This is the ultimate sacrifice. Then when I researched the story to find the article in National Geographic, I found this; the story is not true. Then my heart sank again. I write stories and I will tell you rather it is fact or fiction or I do not know, but to use such a heart wrenching tale then claim it is true by pointing to a well known media (that states the article never existed) then place the story to ensure God’s wing will cover us from harm, I was saddened. What the hell?

I had just posted the story of the baby giraffe and the ‘food for thought’ (my research on that article) pretty much told how animal mothers will leave their young and watch from a distance and then return when danger lurks no more, it is a survival instinct of all animals..

I am not sure what inspired the author of this story to add the media and bible verses, (maybe they didn’t/ perhaps someone took the story and added to it) but that should warrant consequences. I can see writing the story without the media insert and basically leaving it up in the air rather the story is true or not. But one thing is for sure; don’t believe every non-fiction story you read, until you research it. I try to do a quick research on all my stories, and that is where I find ‘food for thought.’ This story up-set me (obviously) and that is my food for thought today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

here are some great heart wrenching stories that are true

Rupert

Molly

An email that includes pictures of a chimpanzee playing with two white tiger cubs. The text claims that the cubs were separated from their tiger mother because of Hurricane Hannah and that the chimpanzee has become their surrogate parent…..The story is true, a must read.

 

 

may your day be filled with truths

 

7 thoughts on “truth or consequences

  1. Hi Art, It is disappointing when people intentionally put false information out there. Often times it’s political in nature. Whenever I receive an e-mail with claims about a political figure or event, I tend to think it’s not true until I research it. It seems like 90% of the time it’s not true. But I believe there are more people interested in spreading truth than spreading false information – people just need to learn to do the research before they spread information. Thanks for researching!

    Tim

  2. The story of the giraffe was what I needed today. I am the mother saving her adult daughter from the fires of hell realms due to the collective society….Dante’s circles of hell in the Divine Comedy.

  3. Perhaps if people were looking for a news segment they would go to the wallstreet journal or even NatGeo. I stumbled upon this blog by the tag spirituality, and the content suited my search. Thanks for sharing, and no need to worry about the technicalities. Their is an audience looking for inspiration, such at the above. Cheers and thanks for sharing.

  4. This seemed a bit phony when reading – it took a ranger to free the chicks — certainly the bird didn’t take a ranger into the equation. Usually, mammels, birds, reptiles and amphibians will protect themselves over their offspring since they can then produce more offspring — that doesn’t mean they don’t often risk their lives for their offspring — but not the norm for them to give up their lives for their offspring.

    Excellent post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

