zen in the garden (wisdom)

 
 
 
A man began to give large doses of cod-liver oil to his Doberman because he had been told that the stuff was good for dogs. Each day he would hold the head of the protesting dog between his knees, force its jaws open, and pour the liquid down its throat.
 
One day the dog broke loose and spilled the oil on the floor. Then to the man’s great surprise, it returned to lick the spoon. That is when he discovered that what the dog had been fighting was not the oil, but his method of administering it.
 
food for thought
 
wisdom comes from lesson’s learned
 
Serve your words to others softly, they are easier to swallow.
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 

zen in the garden

 
A priest was in charge of the garden within a famous Zen temple. He had been given the job because he loved the flowers, shrubs, and trees. Next to the temple there was another, smaller temple where there lived a very old Zen master.
 
One day, when the priest was expecting some special guests, he took extra care in tending to the garden. He pulled the weeds, trimmed the shrubs, combed the moss, and spent a long time meticulously raking up and carefully arranging all the dry autumn leaves. As he worked, the old master watched him with interest from across the wall that separated the temples.
 
When he had finished, the priest stood back to admire his work. “Isn’t it beautiful,” he called out to the old master.
 
“Yes,” replied the old man, “but there is something missing. Help me over this wall and I’ll put it right for you.”

The priest lifted the old fellow over and set him down. Slowly, the master walked to the tree near the center of the garden, grabbed it by the trunk, and shook it. Leaves showered down all over the garden.

“There,” said the old man.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
may your day be filled with…
 
 
16 thoughts on “zen in the garden (wisdom)

  1. Both great stories, my friend. Your first is one I have to work on when I feel strongly and wish to ‘get my point across.’ Softness is heard and felt much more deeply and openly than are force and blunt communication. I ‘get it.’ Can see that doberman so clearly….and in his master’s actions a reflection of myself at times.

    Thanks for this….good reminder to begin my day. Love to you, my friend. xoxo

  2. two tales of wisdom…
    the first, I really like, I have a feeling a lot of folks can take notes from it.
    the second, makes me wonder if I should rake my yard? (grin) however, the grass may need a blanket for winter, however, needs the sunlight to grow. I am still perplexed by story number 2 (grin)

    have a quality day ooxx (~_~) xxoo

    • I understand the quandary, for sure. There’s something beautiful about letting Mother Nature operate in the way she ‘just does.’ And yet, we hear so much about what is ‘best’ for taking care of her. Not sure you can go wrong on this one….as the intention on either side is to honor her presence. I like #2…its simplicity and purity.

  3. When something strikes a nerve for me and rubs me the wrong way, I usually vent first outside of the situation, like on here in blog world, so I can get the strong emotion out of the way, center myself and then move forward in a way that the first story suggests. I haven’t perfected this either, however I am noticing that the more I practice this, the easier it becomes for me to implement.

    It can be difficult to sift down into what a person really is saying when we all can fail to communicate well sometimes. Myself included :)

  4. The first story Jen has had to learn the hard way. As for the second….. I am reminded of a story I once read that said that we will rake and burn leaves and then buy man-made fertilizers to feed our gardens, when we could have let them be.

  5. Pingback: Zen & the Art of Enjoying Everyday Life : Zen Moments #2 « Ritu’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

