Golden Sun and Silver Stars

Growing up, I would always fall back on the chorus of Don Williams song, Country Boy. I love this song…

“…I’ve got silver in the stars and gold in the morning sun.”

 I found solice in being with-out riches. Being born into the military, (Japan) we traveled a lot. We were stationed in Panama till I was nearly nine. When we arrived in the United States. I remember thinking, “How rich Americans were,” because the roads were paved and there were wooden doors on every house. In Panama, most of the roads were dirt roads and most homes had sheets or blankets over the front door. (If they had anything for a front door at all.)

 …a zen masters wealth!

… silver in the stars and gold in the morning sun.

…besides, I learned a long time ago; smaller homes bring people closer together larger houses they are farther apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One day a wealthy father took his son on a trip to the country so that the son could see how the poor lived. They spent a day and a night at the farm of a very poor family. When they got back from their trip, the father asked his son, “How was the trip?”

“Very good, Dad!”

“Did you see how poor people can be?”

“Yeah!”

“And what did you learn?” The Father asked.

The son answered, “I saw that we have a dog at home, and they have four. We have a pool that reaches to the middle of the garden; they have a creek that has no end. We have imported lamps in the house; they have the stars. Our patio reaches to the front yard; they have the whole horizon.” When the little boy was finished, the father was speechless. His son then added, “Thanks Dad for showing me how poor we are!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Poor Man

I saw a man sitting by the road. List less. It looked like he has lost a lot in life. I couldn’t help thinking what might have gone wrong with him. Has he lost all his money in business? Has he been robbed out of last penny in his pocket? Has he lost his love for life? Is he bereaved of his loved ones? or Has he got mad?

He was quite indifferent to the world running with accelerated speed around him. As if he has nothing to do with anyone or anything. It seemed that he has not even bathed for many days, nor has changed his clothes. He had not shaved for months and hair had also got dirty. Perhaps he has eaten nothing for some time.

He did look almost like a beggar but made no sign of begging from others. I could not resist myself to know of his woes. I stepped towards him and greeted him with ‘hello’. He did not respond. I asked him what is that bothering him. and the answer he gave me was really eye opening. He said…

I had decided not to enjoy life until I’ve collected my first million. I did not allow my heart laugh when it wanted to. I did not eat well when I felt hungry. I did not bought new clothes until my old one were not really worn out. I did not mix well with people and family so that I may not have to spend money. After all this efforts… today I’ve got my first million.

‘It’s great’ I said. “Why don’t you laugh now?” I asked “and enjoy the life”

“That’s is the problem” he said. “I have forgotten how to laugh, how to enjoy, my heart has lost its spirit, I have no one to share with my pleasure and” his eyes had got wet..

“then what are you thinking now?” I asked.

“I am reasoning if this first million was really worth what I have lost for it” he said.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~“

Related Stories on zendictive… Take a Needle to Heaven

Picture source: (top) 5:30 in the Morning 

(bottom) Yiddish Proverb

story Source: Who is the Rich Man

story source: Poor Man

song : Country Boy… by Don Williams (YouTube)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

the truely rich are those who enjoy what they have.

If you want to feel rich,
just count all of the things you have that money can’t buy.
- Anonymous

may you find ‘the richness of life’ today

~zendictive~

11 thoughts on “Golden Sun and Silver Stars

  1. I got misty when I read this part:

    “That’s is the problem” he said. “I have forgotten how to laugh, how to enjoy, my heart has lost its spirit, I have no one to share with my pleasure and” his eyes had got wet..

    “then what are you thinking now?” I asked.

    “I am reasoning if this first million was really worth what I have lost for it” he said.

    These stories are all like roots from a tree. Wriggling their way into my mind, making sense, dragging ego OUT of the way … being our true self and letting good things wriggle through out life like roots of a tree …

    You never see nature stop. Grass grows through concrete and doesn’t give it a second thought that it may be difficult. It simply does it.

  2. The love of my family, the beauty I see when I look out of the window, my friends, meeting for coffee or dinner……… to see our sons grown , to see the youngest marry, to the joy and love that emanated from them all that day and it still does now nearly a year, to see my sisters and brothers, to pick up my walking stick and thank God I am not in a wheelchair . To see the boys ( our sons) laughing together, helping each other with work problems, to wake up in the morning to greet another day knowing the pain will ease if I am just patient. I have a lot to be grateful for.

  3. The first story about the rich little boy being able to see the even greater, more lasting riches of the “poor” country people has just filled me with so much hope again for mankind today, Art! Bless you. Unfortunately, I see far too many “comfortably” retired senior citizens around me who are totally miserable, like that man who had just made his first million!

  4. so important….”I’ve got silver in the stars and gold in the morning sun…”….I remember that by The Brothers Four in the early 60′s…I loved that song and the ideas in it….and add a bit of children’s song wisdom from Raffi, of all people…”all I really need is a song in my heart, food in my belly and love in my family” ….nice reminders in this post, Art…thank you… : )

  5. When my older nephew traveled to remote areas of Ecuador years ago, he said he was impressed by how happy everyone seemed to be, and they were very poor, living in shacks. One little girl was overjoyed in getting a doll from him as she didn’t own one. He was invited into their homes, offered a meal. Perhaps not knowing any other world but theirs and being around the power of nature fills them. We humans do not really need much, it’s just the mind that says otherwise.

  6. Pingback: don’t worry, be happy « zendictive

  7. Pingback: Judge Roy Bean « zendictive

Leave a Reply

