Two monks were washing their bowls in the river when one of them noticed a scorpion caught in the rivers current, that was drowning. The monk immediately scooped it up and set it upon the shore. In the process he was stung. He went back to washing his bowl and again the scorpion fell in the river and was caught in the rivers current and appeared to be drowning. The same monk saved the scorpion and was again stung. The other monk asked him, “Friend, why do you continue to save the scorpion when you know it’s nature is to sting?”
“Because,” the monk replied, “to save it, is my nature.”

 

(as much as I know this story is rather common and you’ve probably heard it before, I have to add a little ‘true’ story to this.)

Once, at our other house, my wife was in the kitchen, putting away dishes that she had washed, when she opened a cabinet and screamed out loudly. I came running and she told me that there was a scorpion in the cabinet. I believed her so I searched and searched. I was growing un-sure of what she had seen till I began pulling everything out of the cabinet.

When nearly everything in the cabinet had been pulled out, I finally saw the scorpion. I put a hot pad mitten on one hand and rolled up a newspaper in the other and the fight was on. My wife claims it was one of the funniest sites she had ever seen. Me poking at this scorpion as if I had a sword (rolled up newspaper) and swatting it with the mitten, (shield) till I could claim victory. Sometimes it is also our nature to be afraid of the smallest thing because they sting, like a bee, a wasp, an ant and or a scorpion.

