(This picture drawn by Art~)

A Raccoon passing a Tiger one day made several insulting remarks, until at last the Tiger became angry and turned and chased him. The Raccoon ran his best and managed to reach a tree by the river-side before the Tiger caught up. He climbed the tree and stretched out on a limb overhanging the water.

When the Tiger arrived he saw the coon’s reflection in the water, and thinking it was the Raccoon he jumped at it and fell into the water. The Tiger was nearly drowned before he could scramble out again, all wet and dripping. He lay down on the bank to dry and fell asleep.

While he was sleeping the Raccoon came down the tree and plastered the Tiger’s eyes with dung. When the Tiger awoke he found he could not open his eyes, and began to whine. Along came a little brown bird and through the bushes heard the Tiger crying and asked what was the matter.

The Tiger told his story and said, “If you will get my eyes open, I will show you where to find some nice red paint, to paint yourself.”

“All right,” said the brown bird; so he pecked at the Tiger’s eyes until he got off all the plaster. Then the Tiger took him to a rock that had streaks of bright red paint running through it, and the little bird painted himself with it, and has ever since been a Redbird.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(moral; first off, beware the menace, the racoon (grin; just ask Ole Jules,  his post/ wake up call- coon in the living room) and an act of kindness may be rewarded that will effect your entire species for years to come (hey, it could happen)

Footnote; I dug this old American Indian tale up to go with the picture I drew last night; to test drive the scanner I hooked up. I fianlly got it working and I am excited to place my own art on this zen blog and especially; Fishin for Chuckles. (This story originally has a wolf in the tale, but since I drew a tiger I had to change it) I have a long work week ahead of me but by this weekend I will ready to roll my sleeves up and place some original art with my tales.

have an artistic day

 

