Reasons

One day a malcontent was sitting under a walnut tree, and his eyes fell on a great pumpkin growing nearby.

“Oh God,” said the malcontent, “how foolish you are to give such small nuts to such a big tree and such immense fruit to this tiny vine. Now if pumpkins were growing on this big tree and nuts on this vine, I’d have admired your wisdom.

Just after he said this, a walnut fell down on the man’s head and startled him.

“Oh God,” he continued, “you are right after all. If the pumpkin had fallen from such a height, I might have been killed. Great is your wisdom and your goodness.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Life as a pig

One day, a old master had a vision of his next life. He immediately called in his favorite disciple and begged a favor of him.

“Anything for you master.” the disciple replied.

“In my next life, I will come back as a pig. Soon after I die, our sow will give birth and I will be the fourth pig of the litter. You will recognize me by a mark on my brow. When that happens, please take a sharp knife and end my life quickly.

Within the year, the master passed away and the sow gave birth. The disciple sharpened his knife and found the small piglet. Suddenly the little pig screamed “Stop! Don’t kill me!”

The disciple dropped his knife in surprise and stared at the little pig. “When I was like you I didn’t know what a pig’s life would be like. It’s great. Just let me go.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sozan, a Chinese Zen master, was asked by a student: “What is the most valuable thing in the world?”

The master replied: “The head of a dead tiger.”

“Why is the head of a dead tiger the most valuable thing in the world?” inquired the student.

Sozan replied: “Because no one can name its price.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

here are two piglets, dressed in tiger clothes and in a tiger pit…??? (I searched for a source and an explanation but couldn’t get the story) they say a picture paints a thousand words, well I add that it also raises a few questions. There has to be a …

…reason!

In case you haven’t noticed… I like tigers…

I had this made for my wife at christmas (wood burned art- box)

(click on pic to enlarge)

 

may your day be filled with reason

 

