Once there was a crab walking along the beach and it came across a pearl. The crab knew right away that this round gem was not only beautiful to gaze upon but it must be worth a great deal so it quickly took the pearl back to its burrow and hid it, in its hole that it called home.

The crab never told anyone that it had found the precious pearl, afraid that some one might take it. For a long time the crab admired the pearl and kept it stowed. Finally the day came that the crab was captured and unable to return to its hole. The crabs home was filled-in with sand from the tides, since the crab was not around any longer to keep the hole dug-out.

Time went by and the tides did what they do, constantly washing the shore line till finally one day the pearl was uncovered and exposed, lying on the beach. A young girl was walking along the beach and came across the pearl. Excited and knowing she had found a treasure, she ran home as fast as she could and showed every body what she had found.

The little girl then took the precious gem to the jeweler and sold the pearl for a lot of money, then went to the store and bought a dress that she had wanted for such a long time.

The jeweler made a ring of the pearl and it was purchased by a man for his wife and she cherishes it and safeguards it. The value (to her) is not in the pearl but the fact her husband bought it for her and gave it to her on their anniversary, while at a restaurant, where they had crab for dinner.

Each of us have a treasure. We may keep something or someone safe guarded to ensure its safety. Then that which is a treasure to one may not be to another. It may then be used to obtain what they see as value, be it a person or a thing.  Moral of the story is; one man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

By Art~ … (When I wrote this story and had the story come full circle from the crab to the crab, it reminded me of …’One.’

~~

In Richard Bach’s novel, “One,” the story unfolds that we on this planet are all connected… “One!” Richard Bach is the author of ‘Johnathan Livingston Seagull’ and ‘Illusions‘ (which is one of my favorite reads).

review by Genie Walker~ “One”

Richard and Leslie are traveling by plane (Richard’s the pilot) to Los Angeles when a rare opportunity happens: they are able to visit themselves in the past and in parallel lives. Wise words are sprinkled throughout the novel. One of my personal favorites is when Richard of the present explains to Richard of 30 years ago that mistakes aren’t just mistakes they are “unexpected learning experiences.” I like that because I’ve had more than my fair share of unexpected learning experiences and am most likely to have another one soon.

The novel soon has you pondering over your own life. What if I could go back and talk to myself. Knowing that all my past experiences has made me who I am today; would I try to change my path in the past? If there is such a thing as parallel worlds what would the other versions of me be doing today? If I can change my path, can I do it today without having to travel in the past? How can I apply the words of wisdom in this book to my own situation? What if…?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One fine day two Crabs came out from their home to take a stroll on the sand. “Child,” said the mother, “you are walking very ungracefully. You should accustom yourself, to walking straight forward without twisting from side to side.”

“Pray, mother,” said the young one, “do but set the example yourself, and I will follow you.” 

Example is the best precept. …. Aesop!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(I like the picture of the two crabs, it reminds me of those who want to hold us back and keep us from bettering ourselves.)

may your day not be crabby! Peace-out

(~_~)

