The owner of a farm asked his child to work everyday at the farm.


His friend said to him : “ You do not have to make your son work so hard. The crops would grow just as good.”

Owner of the farm replied: “ I am not cultivating my crops, but my child.”

Moral of the story:
1. A simple way to groom a child is to let him experience some hardships.
2. If not cut, jade would not turn into useful ware.

 

source:  CMA. CS. Sanjay Gupta

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

food for thought

~ A moment of … Art~

A friend of mine and I were talking and he asked, …

“Why is zen so important?”

I truly thought about this and replied; “That zen is living in the moment,” (zen is defined as; state of being, enlightened) so why is it so important? I thought about my life and when I was younger, I recall the frustration I endured with obstacles in my life. (frustration is a sign of a limited mind)  I feel that now that I am older and wiser (grinin’) that I do not allow things to frustrate me. (as much) When faced with a problem I reflect heavily on a zen story that relates and it helps me through rough times.

I stared at my friend a moment and then stated that zen is in everything. I reached down and picked up a stone. “There is zen in something so small as this stone.” (what could it be?… I pondered a moment) This tiny rock was once part of a larger mass and broke off and became separated. It was rough and probably had jagged edges, (for it did not break off and become smooth instantly) it then went through years of weathering to become such a slick, smooth and appealing surface. It went through a lot to finally come to this point and be here now and many years from now it will be moved by weather and elements and probably be some place else.

My friend stated that the rock was in the road and was probably brought in with a load of dirt. (laughing)

perhaps! I realized then that my friend saw nothing more than a rock in hand rather than the reality in what brought it to this moment, this day. Of all the rocks in the world and of all the years the stone had existed, today it lay in my hand. I come to realize that a zen mind sees things differently, openly, finding something profound in nothing-ness, unlimited, unrestrained, unrelenting, and of course enlightened.

~Before a person studies zen, mountains are mountains and waters are waters; after a first glimpse into the truth of zen, mountains are no longer mountains and waters are no longer waters, after enlightenment, mountains are once again mountains and waters are once again waters.~

So, why is zen so important? I believe it opens up the mind and all should grasp this enlightened state, the world would be a better place if we all opened our minds to possibilities rather than simply see something for its face value. Like the balls of clay. If there are schools that teach nothing but zen, it must be important to alot of others too! I recall a quote; “there is zen in everything, but not everyone sees this!”

When I was asked, “why do you post a blog about zen?” I replied, that the posting is a small part of it, I actually hunger for enlightenment, so I seek it, I hunt for it and when I find something that stirs me emotionally (in a short story) I post it here as my own little collection of enlightenment stories to reflect on, re-use and share. I use to put them in a note-book until I found the internet. (O_O)

I lay in bed at night and contemplate things and that is how a lot of my stories come to life. So, when I thought about why is zen so important? I found that it is important to me, the center of my universe is me. So, I am what I am, not a light house, not a candle, not a shadow, not a thought, but a human with thoughts and here I share them because… zen is important to me!

Take two minutes out of your day and sit, calm the storm in your mind, close your eyes and listen to nothing but the sound of your breath and the beating of your heart, two of the most imortant things in your life. Embrace the Zen Mind!

 here are a few things I found that were interesting but lengthy, if your interested in reading about zen… if your here for the stories… scroll down, I found a cute one this morning! Have a zen-filled day!

“what is zen?”

“Zen is boring”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Little girl and her father were crossing a bridge.
The father was kind of scared so he asked his little daughter,
‘Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you don’t fall into the river.’


The little girl said, ‘No, Dad. You hold my hand.’
‘What’s the difference?’ Asked the puzzled father.
‘There’s a big difference,’ replied the little girl.

‘If I hold your hand and something happens to me,
chances are that I may let your hand go.
But if you hold my hand, I know for sure that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go.’

In any relationship, the essence of trust is not in its bind, but in its bond.

So hold the hand of the person who loves you rather than expecting them to hold yours…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 
 
may peace and tranquility fill your mind today
(~_~)
 
