another year older….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pencil: I’m sorry because you get hurt because of me. Whenever I made a mistake, you’re always there to erase it. But as you make my mistakes vanish, you lose a part of yourself. You get smaller and smaller each time.

Eraser: That’s true. But I don’t really mind. You see, I was made to do this. I was made to help you whenever you do something wrong. Even though one day, I know I’ll be gone and you’ll replace me with a new one, I’m actually happy with my job. So please, stop worrying. I hate seeing you sad.

I found this conversation between the pencil and the eraser very inspirational. Parents are like the eraser whereas their children are the pencil. They’re always there for their children, cleaning up their mistakes. Sometimes along the way, they get hurt, and become smaller / older, and eventually pass on. Though their children will eventually find someone new (spouse), but parents are still happy with what they do for their children, and will always hate seeing their precious ones worrying, or sad. All my life, I’ve been the pencil. And it pains me to see the eraser that is my parents getting smaller and smaller each day. For I know that one day, all that I’m left with would be eraser shavings and memories of what I used to have.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

zen birthday…by Angela Chee

My son just turned 4 and this year we had a “no gift” birthday party.  Not that I think there is anything wrong with gifts, but I just started to see the focus shift away from just celebrating to presents.   When he was 2 he had a big party with gifts, last year we just celebrated with family, and this year I wanted to throw him a party, but I didn’t want it to be about the presents.  He gets enough presents from family and doesn’t need more stuff.  I felt like it was a critical point to teach him the importance of appreciation and giving.

But I know just saying “no gifts” sometimes, stresses people out.  Many people don’t like coming empty handed and then others bring gifts anyway which may make others feel bad.   So instead of just saying “no gifts please” we said we were teaching my son about sharing and that gifts weren’t necessary, but if you would like to bring something we will be taking unwrapped donations to Children’s Hospital.

I included my son in the whole process.  He knew that people may be bringing things to help other kids.  I wasn’t sure how it would all go over at first, but he was really excited to take the donations to the hospital.   We brought dozens of art supplies which the hospital says benefits the most children.  They were so great with him, thanked him, told him where the donations were going and even gave him a certificate.  He had a great birthday party with friends and learned a valuable lesson as well.

About The Zen Mom

I’m Angela Chee, a TV Host, Writer, Motivational Speaker and Mother of 2. If you’re a mom you know motherhood isn’t always so zen! The Zen Mom is about to trying to keep the balance and peace in your life while dealing with the wonderful chaos of being a parent. It’s about your journey as a mom, but not forgetting your journey as a woman. The Zen Mom-Wisdom, Inspiration, Laughter.
 
(“It’s about your journey”…)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Born Today

John Lennon, born October 9, 1940 The Beatles; “Give peace a chance”.
Second wife, Yoko Ono, was born February 18, 1933.

John Entwistle, born October 9, 1944
Bass player and keyboardist for The Who.

Sean Lennon, born October 9, 1975 Son of
John Lennon.

Art Campbell, born October 9, 1959, Tachikawa, Japan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(If I had a candle for every Friend and or family member that did not live as long as I have, I would have as many candles for them than I would for how many years old I am… , there-fore, I count my blessings)

(~_~)

