At the beginning of time, Fish and Salamander looked very much alike. They were discussing how they planned to evolve. “I wish to grow thinner and to grow my tail broad,” said Fish. “Then I will swim like lightning and outrace any creature in the pond. How about you?”
Salamander considered. “Well, it would certainly be nice to be the fastest creature in the pond. But I think I will keep my awkward tail, which allows me to swim well enough. What I wish to change instead is to grow some modest legs.”
Fish laughed. “Legs? In a pond? What a waste!” Soon, though, came a drought, and the pond began to dry up. Fish was trapped, but Salamander was able to crawl out in hopes of finding another pond. “How did you know that legs would come in so handy?” cried Fish to his departing friend.
“I didn’t,” said Salamander. “But I wasn’t so naive as to assume that circumstances today would be the same as circumstances tomorrow.”
Moral: The versatile are more likely to succeed.

_________________________________________

I bought the wife a new computer for Christmas (so I am back to blogging) or so I thought. The new computer has a newer version on it and learning to navigate it makes me feel like a fish out of water. Every thing is a little different than what I was used to. We grow accustomed to things as they are, not considering the fact that the only thing constant is change.

He who fails to prepare, prepares to fail.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

this is what a fish out of water looks like?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Incredible Mr. Limpet (knows how it feels to be a fish out of water)

zen proverb

to live is to move and be moved

(~_~)

