On the way to preschool, the doctor had left her stethoscope on the car seat, and her little girl picked it up and began playing with it. “Be still, my heart,” thought the doctor, “my daughter wants to follow in my footsteps!” Then the child spoke into the instrument, “Welcome to McDonald’s. May I take your order?”

Among the many lessons we can learn from children is the lesson about how to have fun. And for most children, fun is spelled F-A-N-T-A-S-Y. Their worlds of make believe are places of excitement and joy.

Writer Dr. Seuss said this about fantasy: “I like nonsense; it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living; it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.”

One man spoke for too many of us when he said, “The prospect of a long day at the beach makes me panic. There is no harder work I can think of than taking myself off to somewhere pleasant, where I am forced to stay for hours and ‘have fun.'” Are fun and fantasy part of your life, or is having fun just another fantasy?

What might happen if you decided to look at life through the wrong end of a telescope? What if you asked yourself “What if?” instead of “What now?” And how can you put more “fun” into your daily “functions”?

Wake up those brain cells! They’ll thank you years from now.

this story found here

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A small child walked daily to and from school. As the day progressed, the winds whipped up, along with thunder and lightning. The weather was becoming frightening and dangerous as the lightning got steadily worse.

Being concerned, the child’s mother got into her car and drove along the route to her child’s school. Soon she saw her small child walking along, but at each flash of lightning, the child would stop, look and smile.
One followed another, each time her child stopping, looking at the streak of light and smiling. Finally, the mother called and asked, “What are you doing?”

Her child answered, “God keeps taking pictures of me.”

(I love this story so I had to post it again. A perfect example of taking a tense situation and making it fun. )

If you never did you should,

These things are Fun and Fun is good.

Dr Seuss

(~_~)