The Dirty Windshield … by Art~  2012

The old truck rumbled down the dusty dirt road. Father and son, sat quietly as they drove toward town. The farm field next to the dirt road was filled with rows and rows of corn stalks. Sudenly a grasshopper flew in front of the truck and splattered on the wind-shield. Then another and then another. The mess was gruesome to the boy so he asked.

“Dad, are you going to turn on the windshield wipers?”

“No son, if I do that it will smear and make an even bigger mess.” The Father answered.

“How can you see?” The boy asked.

“I can see. There are a few clear spots that I look through.” The father said. More bugs hit the windshield as it often does near the latter part of spring as the two of them made their way down the dusty dirt road.

When the two arrived in town, the father turned into the gas station, go out and cleaned the windshield with a water hose and a windsheild squeegie. When he was done he got back in the truck and the boy bellowed out. “I can see again.”

“You could see all along. When things get in our way, we find a way to keep going. When the end of the day comes our minds are filled with things like the bugs on the windshield. We have to simply wash away the day and start like new.” The father said.

The boy sat quietly as the father went through town and did his chores. Stopping at the post office and the grocery store. When they began to go home and approaced the dusty dirt road the boy moved over and sat next to his father. The father looked at his son and asked, “What are you doing?”

“I am getting ready to do the best I can to see the world when the bugs try and keep me from seeing.” The father smiled.

“You will find that there are people in the world just like the bugs. They will try and block you from seeing things the right way and try to get you to see things their way. When this happens what are you going to do?” The father asked.

“Clean the windshield?” The boy stated as if unsure of the answer.

The father smiled and said, “Exactly!” Suddenly a bug hit the windshield, then another. “Let’s say this one is frustration and this one is anger.” The father said while pointing at the bugs on the windshield. “Now we have to find a way to see past the mess and keep a clear view on where we are going.”

Then another grasshopper flew across the truck and splattered on the glass of the windshield. The boy looked at his father and pointed at the mess, “That ones my baby sister when she cries.” The boy sat up a little and found a place where he could see more clearly.

“When it is hard for us to see we must find a way to have what is called clarity.” The father said.

“What do you do when the whole windshield is covered and you can’t see?” The boy asked.

“Then it is time to stop, take a few minutes to fix the problem so that we can see more clearly.” Just then another bug blasted the windshield.

“That one is when I have to eat spinach!” The boy said and the two laughed all the way home.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(This story started taking shape back when I had to drive to the Airport in the big city, with my step son to pickup my father-in-law. (Recalling the post… “It is what it is,” ) as always if you see a way to make this story better, please let me know. I am always open to critisism, ideas and comments to better a story.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I often do when writing a story I look for food for thought and to ensure there are no similar stories, I found this…

 One rainy afternoon I was driving along one of the main streets in town, taking those extra precautions necessary when the roads are wet and slick. Suddenly, my son Matthew spoke up from his relaxed position in the front seat, “Mom, I’m thinking of something.”

This announcement usually meant he had been pondering some fact for a while and was now ready to expound all that his 7-year-old mind had discovered. I was eager to hear.

 “What are you thinking?” I asked.

 “The rain,” he began, “is like sin and the windshield wipers are like God, wiping our sins away.”

 After the chill bumps raced up my arms I was able to respond, “That’s really good Matthew.” Then my curiosity broke in. How far would this little boy take this revelation? So I asked, “Do you notice how the rain keeps on coming?  What does that tell you?”

 Matthew didn’t hesitate one moment with his answer “We keep on sinning and God just keeps on forgiving us.” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

wishing you all a day of …